The Asia Cup 2023 concluded on September 17, 2023, with India defeating Sri Lanka by 10 wickets in the final. The tournament was hosted by both Pakistan and Sri Lanka, with the first four matches being played in Multan, Pakistan, and the remaining matches being played in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

India clinches Asia Cup 2023 title

India emerged as the champions of the Asia Cup 2023, defeating Sri Lanka by a comprehensive margin in the final. Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat, but they were bundled out for just 50 runs in 15.2 overs, thanks to a brilliant bowling performance from Mohammed Siraj, who claimed six wickets for just nine runs.

India then chased down the target in just 5.1 overs, with Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill scoring unbeaten half-centuries.

Siraj named Player of the Tournament

Mohammed Siraj was adjudged the Player of the Tournament for his exceptional bowling performances throughout the tournament. He claimed 10 wickets in five matches, at an average of 21.20 and an economy rate of 5.70. He was also instrumental in India's victory in the final, with his six-wicket haul helping to bowl out Sri Lanka for just 50 runs.

Other notable performances

Other notable performances from the Asia Cup 2023 include the following:

  1. Virat Kohli: The former Indian captain made a strong comeback to form in the Asia Cup, scoring 276 runs in five matches at an average of 55.20 and a strike rate of 147.59. He also scored a century in the Super Four match against Pakistan.
  2. Babar Azam: The Pakistan captain also had a good tournament, scoring 276 runs in five matches at an average of 55.20 and a strike rate of 125.00. He scored a half-century in the final against Sri Lanka.
  3. Wanindu Hasaranga: The Sri Lankan all-rounder was the leading wicket-taker of the tournament, with 11 wickets in five matches at an average of 18.18 and an economy rate of 5.30. He also played some useful innings with the bat.

Overall, the Asia Cup 2023 was a successful tournament, with some exciting cricket on display. India were the deserving winners, and they will now be looking to carry their momentum forward into the upcoming T20 World Cup